What do the scriptures say in the NLT Old Testament

Genesis 15

1. Some time later, the Lord spoke to Abram in a vision and said to him, “Do not be afraid, Abram, for I will protect you, and your reward will be great.

 

Genesis 17

1. When Abram was ninety-nine years old, the Lord appeared to him and said, “I am El-Shaddai—‘God Almighty.’ Serve me faithfully and live a blameless life.

 

Genesis 26

24 where the Lord appeared to him on the night of his arrival. “I am the God of your father, Abraham,” he said. “Do not be afraid, for I am with you and will bless you. I will multiply your descendants, and they will become a great nation. I will do this because of my promise to Abraham, my servant.”

 

Genesis 28

13 At the top of the stairway stood the Lord, and he said, “I am the Lord, the God of your grandfather Abraham, and the God of your father, Isaac. The ground you are lying on belongs to you. I am giving it to you and your descendants.

 

15 What’s more, I am with you, and I will protect you wherever you go. One day I will bring you back to this land. I will not leave you until I have finished giving you everything I have promised you.”

 

Exodus 3

14 God replied to Moses, “I am who i am.[d] Say this to the people of Israel: I am has sent me to you.”

 

Exodus 6

6 “Therefore, say to the people of Israel: ‘I am the Lord. I will free you from your oppression and will rescue you from your slavery in Egypt. I will redeem you with a powerful arm and great acts of judgment.

 

7 I will claim you as my own people, and I will be your God. Then you will know that I am the Lord your God who has freed you from your oppression in Egypt.

 

8 I will bring you into the land I swore to give to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. I will give it to you as your very own possession. I am the Lord!’”

 

Exodus 15

26 He said, “If you will listen carefully to the voice of the Lord your God and do what is right in his sight, obeying his commands and keeping all his decrees, then I will not make you suffer any of the diseases I sent on the Egyptians; for I am the Lord who heals you.”

 

Leviticus 11

44 For I am the Lord your God. You must consecrate yourselves and be holy, because I am holy. So do not defile yourselves with any of these small animals that scurry along the ground.

 

45 For I, the Lord, am the one who brought you up from the land of Egypt, that I might be your God. Therefore, you must be holy because I am holy.

 

Psalms 46

10 “Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation.I will be honored throughout the world.”

 

Psalms 81

10 For it was I, the Lord your God, who rescued you from the land of Egypt. Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it with good things.

 

Song of Solomon 2

1 I am the spring crocus blooming on the Sharon Plain, the lily of the valley.

 

Isaiah 41

10 Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.

 

Isaiah 42

8 “I am the Lord; that is my name! I will not give my glory to anyone else, nor share my praise with carved idols.

 

Isaiah 43

3 For I am the Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. I gave Egypt as a ransom for your freedom; I gave Ethiopia[a] and Seba in your place.

 

5 “Do not be afraid, for I am with you. I will gather you and your children from east and west.

 

10 “But you are my witnesses, O Israel!” says the Lord. “You are my servant.

You have been chosen to know me, believe in me, and understand that I alone am God. There is no other God— there never has been, and there never will be.

 

11 I, yes I, am the Lord, and there is no other Savior.

 

15 I am the Lord, your Holy One, Israel’s Creator and King.

 

25 “I—yes, I alone—will blot out your sins for my own sake and will never think of them again.

 

Isaiah 44

6 This is what the Lord says—Israel’s King and Redeemer, the Lord of Heaven’s Armies: “I am the First and the Last; there is no other God.

 

22 I have swept away your sins like a cloud. I have scattered your offenses like the morning mist. Oh, return to me, for I have paid the price to set you free.”

 

24 This is what the Lord says— your Redeemer and Creator: “I am the Lord, who made all things. I alone stretched out the heavens. Who was with me when I made the earth?

 

Isaiah 45

5 I am the Lord; there is no other God. I have equipped you for battle, though you don’t even know me,

 

6 so all the world from east to west will know there is no other God. I am the Lord, and there is no other.

 

Isaiah 48

7 They are brand new, not things from the past. So you cannot say, ‘We knew that all the time!’

 

Isaiah 51

12 “I, yes I, am the one who comforts you. So why are you afraid of mere humans, who wither like the grass and disappear?

 

Jeremiah 3

12 Therefore, go and give this message to Israel.[b] This is what the Lord says: “O Israel, my faithless people, come home to me again, for I am merciful. I will not be angry with you forever.

 

14 “Return home, you wayward children,” says the Lord, “for I am your master. I will bring you back to the land of Israel—one from this town and two from that family— from wherever you are scattered.

 

15 And I will give you shepherds after my own heart, who will guide you with knowledge and understanding.

 

Jeremiah 9

24 But those who wish to boast should boast in this alone: that they truly know me and understand that I am the Lord who demonstrates unfailing love and who brings justice and righteousness to the earth, and that I delight in these things. I, the Lord, have spoken!

 

Jeremiah 23

32 I am against these false prophets. Their imaginary dreams are flagrant lies that lead my people into sin. I did not send or appoint them, and they have no message at all for my people. I, the Lord, have spoken!

 

Jeremiah 24

7 I will give them hearts that recognize me as the Lord. They will be my people, and I will be their God, for they will return to me wholeheartedly.

 

Jeremiah 32

27 “I am the Lord, the God of all the peoples of the world. Is anything too hard for me?

 

Ezekial 13

14 I will break down your wall right to its foundation, and when it falls, it will crush you. Then you will know that I am the Lord.

 

The core paused at that one scripture and looked up to her surroundings. All those walls around her, past the guards, that were falling down were the work of the Lord. This one scripture described what he was doing in her life, despite it being written for something else. Out of curiosity she went back to where it was first mentioned, verse 10.

 

10 “This will happen because these evil prophets deceive my people by saying, ‘All is peaceful’ when there is no peace at all! It’s as if the people have built a flimsy wall, and these prophets are trying to reinforce it by covering it with whitewash!

 

11 Tell these whitewashers that their wall will soon fall down. A heavy rainstorm will undermine it; great hailstones and mighty winds will knock it down.

 

12 And when the wall falls, the people will cry out, ‘What happened to your whitewash?’

 

She didn’t know what the word “whitewash” meant so she looked it up for an understanding. Whitewash to cover up or gloss over the faults or errors of; absolve from blame. To her, this was her life in a nutshell; at least the newly highlighted parts. She agreed to the wall for her defense, the builder came in to assemble it, the guards “whitewashed” it, and now the Lord was come to destroy it.

 

Each guard paused, as is petrified, to that one set of scriptures. Fear fell on their faces, even fear itself looked scared. There was one scripture that talked about even the devils believed and trembled. She kept reading aloud to herself and to them.

 

Ezekial 34

31 You are my flock, the sheep of my pasture. You are my people, and I am your God. I, the Sovereign Lord, have spoken!”

 

Ezekial 38

23 In this way, I will show my greatness and holiness, and I will make myself known to all the nations of the world. Then they will know that I am the Lord.

 

Ezekial 39

7  “In this way, I will make known my holy name among my people of Israel. I will not let anyone bring shame on it. And the nations, too, will know that I am the Lord, the Holy One of Israel.

 

Malachi 1

14 Cursed is the cheat who promises to give a fine ram from his flock but then sacrifices a defective one to the Lord. For I am a great king,” says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies, “and my name is feared among the nations!

 

Malachi 3

6 “I am the Lord, and I do not change. That is why you descendants of Jacob are not already destroyed.

~ by davisddesigns on May 6, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
