Dietary Shift: Hello Mexican Style Cooked Food

After the shocker of eating out and how much it costs, I want to bring up the effects of Florida to my diet again. I say “again” because I talked about a Mexican restaurant in the post “mini vacation and graduation”. The effects of being in Florida did shift my diet a bit. Ever since we drove into Florida and ate at Chili’s, I had developed a craving for avocados. I like avocados but never went on what feels like a binge. In that post I talked about how fresh the food looks; it’s almost set up like Subway.

 

I say I like Asian based food because I like Chinese and Japanese food. In a way, I’m actually completely wrong when I say I like Asian food. What I like about those two genre’s of food is the American twist to what they eat at home. Like I said last post, I basically cut out the Japanese food because everything they cook is in butter. Somehow I get this notion that Japanese living in Japan don’t cook everything in butter. I know rice is to them what corn is to us. Everything they cook is involved with rice as well as having bowls of rice as a side dish. I do like the hibachi grill when it comes to the meat and the vegetables and rice. There are some vegetables I will eat cooked at a Japanese American restaurant that I won’t eat any other way. I’m not much of an onion, potato, or zucchini person when it comes to home cooking. Especially don’t care too much for potato. However, those are three ingredients to the hibachi vegetables and I like them; especially dipped in the yum yum sauce.

 

With the Chinese spring egg rolls, I don’t know what’s in that other than cabbage. The only way I seem to like cabbage as of right now is through an egg roll. Egg drop soup has what appears to be celery in it and I won’t eat raw celery. Everyone probably knows of someone who eats raw celery while dipping it in something like a dressing. Most like to do it in Ranch. Celery is good for you because it burns more calories to eat it than what it has. Onions are in the fried rice (call it yellow rice because its yellow) as well as something green that I don’t know. Not sure what it is but I eat it just the same. The soup and the rice have peas and I pick them out. I don’t like shrimp because of the texture of the meat. It’s not the texture of the skin that bothers me because the skin is pulled off; it’s the texture of the meat. When eating shrimp, it’s like the red feels different to my tongue than the white and that completely throws me off. I like crab legs (if I can dip the meat in butter) but I don’t like crab. Same creature, different parts of the body. Yes I’m finicky.

 

Most of what I know about Asian diets is that they eat a lot of sushi and vegetables. I watched Gordon Ramsey’s Great Escape and found out that they eat more than just fish and vegetables. They eat what’s available and they spice it a lot heavier than we do in the West. Vietnamese eat duck, fish, snake, chicken, seafood and more. They cook everything in different styles from frying to grilling to baking and I am so happy I do not live there. I would starve to death. When he went to India I saw mostly beef, pork and a lot of spices. I think Cambodia was heavy on the curry and I’ve never had curry. Overall, no I don’t eat an Asian diet. I like Chinese and Japanese American foods.

 

As I eat more Mexican dishes, I think I’m leaning towards that style of food as a vegetarian. I love lettuce (mostly romaine), I like tomatoes, I love black olives, love mushrooms, like bell peppers, and I even tolerate onions. Love avocados and that love transfers to guacamole. Apparently I like cilantro because its in the guacamole and cilantro – lime rice is good.  I’ll even experiment with paprika, cumin, pepper and other spices as I eat more but I honestly do believe I’ll get most of my vegetables via Mexican dishes. It’s hard to cook Chinese and Japanese recipes at home in a really good way but Mexican is different. Maybe the other two would be easier if we had an actual store for that food but we don’t. We don’t have anywhere to go to get over half the ingredients used for the authentic dishes largely in part because this town don’t support that food. Mexican and American restaurants beat out Chinese and Japanese it appears. Walmart and Kroger’s dedicate a full isle to Mexican foods plus the whole “organic produce” section. Between those two, you can cook just bout any Mexican dish you want.

 

So yea, I’m going to experiment on the healthier and fresher side of food more so in that than anything else. Here’s a complete list of fresh things I know I do like or will at least tolerate:

 

  • Avocado
    • Guacamole
  • Artichoke
  • Mushroom
  • Black Olives
  • Spinach
  • Bell Peppers (red, yellow, green, orange)
  • Onion (sweet or white)
  • Lettuce
  • Tomato
  • Cilantro
  • Kale
  • Corn
  • Carrot
  • Zucchini
  • Celery
  • Potato
  • Sweet Potato
  • Cabbage
  • Okra
  • Pumpkin
  • Small, trace amounts of Garlic
  • Apples
  • Banana
  • Honey dew melon
  • Orange
  • Strawberry
  • Grape
  • Lime
  • Pineapple
  • Watermelon
  • Cantaloupe
  • Fig
  • Almond
  • Cashew
  • Macadamia
  • Pecan
  • Walnut
  • Dry Roasted Nuts (if that counts)
  • Sunflower Seed

Out of everything I just listed, except for the dry roasted nuts, sunflower seeds and okra, I will only buy as fresh produce. Okra I buy fresh too and will eat raw but I prefer to buy them frozen and breaded so I can have fried okra. Tried breading them myself and the breading never stayed on while in the fryer.  There are a lot of things I haven’t tried and I’m thinking about making enchiladas tonight. Some of those items on the list will be in the enchiladas and some of those items I only eat in special ways. Really wanting to go buy cilantro and work with that in some dishes. Don’t like lime for anything other than a flavor. Most of all, I’m wanting to expand my list of fresh ingredients (at least foods that I know aren’t processed).

 

To me, Mexican = fresh = healthy because I’m so finicky over what I eat right now. Still not a fan of Italian and Chinese and Japanese are just costly but not healthy. I know how to cook the hibachi vegetables at home in a more healthy style so I can experiment with those. Main thing on that is to not overdose them with soy sauce. I also want to try marinating chicken and putting it in the rotisserie oven. The marinating sauce I want to have includes apple flavoring being added to it. That came about when I went to Moonlight BBQ last and got half a plate of baked apples and three chicken tenders. Ended up dipping the tenders in the sauce / syrup / juice from the apples.  Just as strawberry flavored tea is good, apple flavored chicken in that manner tastes good.

 

By the way, I don’t know what brought on this shift towards healthier based food. I’m more interested now in eating fresher ingredients and trying to learn restaurant recipes at home than I’ve ever been. A lot of things have happened to me on a spiritual stand point and has reflected in natural ways. The change in my wardrobe and the change in my sleeping schedule is just two proofs of that. Is this also a change reflecting something in the spiritual? I’m not sure but I know sooner or later I’ll find out. Oh and I do like fish. I like catfish, tilapia and sometimes I’ll go for cod. Not sure about what anything else tastes like aside from salmon. With salmon I have to get over the fact it’s still pink after its cooked. Growing up on pork and beef, pink means not fully cooked.

~ by davisddesigns on May 18, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
